December 7, 2011

WWW Wednesdays & WoW: Hug (Dec. 7)

W...W...W... Wednesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading.

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…
  • What are you currently reading? 
  • What did you recently finish reading? 
  • What do you think you’ll read next? 


What are you currently reading? I am currently going through nine, or so, different books. Let's have a list, shall we? First, we have Darker Still by Leanna Renee Hieber. I am also reading El Gavilan by Craig McDonald, Across the Universe by Beth Revis, Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce, Intertwined by Gena Showalter, Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen, A Touch of Greek by Tina Folsom, Inkheart by Cornelia Funke, and last but not least, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë. Yup, that's all of them.

What did you recently finish reading? I have recently finished four books: Unearthly by Cynthia Hand (which was FABULOUS! I highly recommend it), The Iron King by Julie Kagawa, Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick, and Blood's Voice by Aine P. Massie.

What do you think you'll read next? Most likely, I will be reading Ashfall by Mike Mullin, after I'm done one of the books I've mentioned, ahaha!


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill's Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're waiting to get our greedy little hands on.

This week we have:

By Melanie Thorne
Expected Pub: April 12, 2012

From GR:
A tough, tender, debut novel, in the tradition of Dorothy Allison and Janet Fitch, Hand Me Down is the unforgettable story of a girl who travels between California and Utah in search of her true family, having never been loved best of all.

Fourteen-year-old Elizabeth Reid has spent her life protecting her sister, Jaime, from their parents' cruel mistakes. Their father, who'd rather work the system than a job, pours every dollar into his many vices, denying his daughters the shoes and clothing they need. Their mother, once a loving parent, is going through a post-post-adolescent rebellious streak and finds love with a dangerous ex-con. When she chooses starting a new family over raising her first-born girls, Elizabeth and Jaime are separated and forced to rely on the begrudging kindness of increasingly distant relatives.

A string of broken promises that begins with Liz's mother swearing, "I would never hurt you, Liz. You're family," propels her between guest beds in two states searching for a safe home. All the while, Liz is burdened by her stake in a bleak pact with a deceitful adult: to tell the truth about the darkest of her circumstances will cost her the ability to shelter Jaime. As Liz spirals into the abyss of fear and shame that haunts her sleepless nights, can she break free from her bonds in time to fight for her life?

Thorne writes with a command of language that is at once affecting and enticing. Her debut is the kind of voice-driven reading experience fiction lovers crave.

By Carol Lynch Williams
Expected Pub: May 1, 2012

From S&S:
After her brother’s death, a teen struggles to rediscover love and find redemption in this gripping novel.

Growing up in Africa and Latin America as the children of missionaries, London and Zach were as close as could be. And then Zach dies, and the family is gutted. London’s father is distant. Her mother won’t speak. The days are filled with what-ifs and whispers: Did Zach take his own life? Was it London’s fault?

Alone and adrift, London finds herself torn between her brother’s best friend and the handsome new boy in town as she struggles to find herself—and ultimately redemption—in this authentic and affecting novel from award-winning novelist Carol Lynch Williams.

By Huntley Fitzpatrick
Expected Pub: June 14, 2012

From GR:
"One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time."

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, numerous, messy. And every day from her balcony perch, seventeen year old Samantha wishes she was one of them… until the day Jase Garrett climbs her terrace and changes everything.

Jase can sense that his beautiful neighbor is missing something in her sterile home, and as the two fall fiercely in love, his family makes her one of their own.

But when the bottom drops out of Sam's world, which perfect family will save her–and will her perfect love survive?

Set among the haves and have-nots of a coastal New England town, My LIFE NEXT DOOR captures the angst, the heartache, and the raw-nerve emotions of first time love—and biting loss.


So what are you reading and what are you all looking forward to? 
Leave a comment in BtS, SBR or right here!


Darkest Mercy
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Rise of the Evening Star
Dangerous Angels: The Weetzie Bat Books
Grip of the Shadow Plague
The Necromancer
City of Fallen Angels
Anne of Ingleside
Where She Went
Dust & Decay
The Legacy
Never Dead
Life Is But a Dream
The Lost Hero
The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making
Secrets of the Dragon Sanctuary

Demijel's favorite books »